• top_image


Please see our news in the archive to the right.

MIOCA awards $100,000 to 2017 Research Grantees

March 28, 2017

It is with great excitement that MIOCA announces the 2017 Geri Fournier Ovarian Cancer Research Award Recipients.  Due to the increasing support of MIOCA, the Board of Directors has, once again, increased the funds dedicated to ovarian cancer research here in Michigan.   A  total of $100,000 will fund two Michigan researchers working to improve treatment outcomes. 

Geeta Mehta, Ph.D.
 Assistant Professor
 Department of Materials Science and Engineering
 Department of Biomedical Engineering
 University of Michigan
Sheer Stress causes Chemoresistance in Ovarian Cancer Cells 

Dr. Shitanshu Uppal, MBBS
Asst. Professor, Dept of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Div. of Gynecologic Oncology
Co-Director, Michigan Oncology Quality Collaborative
Institute of Health Care Policy and Innovation
University of Michigan
Improving Ovarian Cancer Outcomes through a Michigan-wide Collaborative  

MIOCA is pleased to offer Scholarship Opportunity to attend OCRFA Conference in Chicago

MIOCA is pleased to offer Scholarship Opportunity to attend OCRFA Conference in Chicago

March 12, 2017

MIOCA is pleased to offer six $500 scholarships to MI ovarian cancer survivors to attend the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund Alliance's (OCRFA) Annual Conference in Chicago, IL on July 7-9, 2017. Attendees will enjoy a dynamic weekend of information, discussion and connection. Marcia Gurche, survivor and MIOCA Board member states, "Attending the Ovarian Cancer National Conference is a worthwhile experience. I really enjoyed hearing the latest information related to ovarian cancer and meeting so many survivors from all over the country." 

Visit the OCRFA Conference site for information.  Each scholarship award will cover one registration, the cost of sharing a room with one other person,  and approximately $80 toward travel/food costs.  Those interested in receiving a scholarship must complete the scholarship application form and submit it by Friday, March 31.  Recipients will selected by random drawing.